In the crisp mountain air
Up high by the clouds
The dawn is breaking free
From the nighttime sky
As the dusk dies away.

But up in the Colorado Rockies
There is no person that cares
For there is no one here anymore.

The town that once was
Is no more,
No more people living here.
The gold and the whisky
Has long ago run out.

The elk and also the deer
Are the residents now,
Who dwell at peace
Free from the fear of the town people.

The wind blows gently
From the one end to the other end
Of the formerly vibrant streets
That is now forever only animated
With the phantasms of long-ago past
And the once upon a time flourishing stores.

The long ago memories are over
And done with for all time,
Never to return
To living consciousness again,
Forgotten by time.

They are like the ghosts
That is whirling after a gust
Of wind in the dusty streets
Or stay behind buried
In the cemetery plots.

Ghost town

Ghost town

About Randall

Welcome to my mind. From it come such writings that have been posted here. The blog Nightly Sky contains the poems that I have written. Sorry. I like writing and poetry.

35 responses »

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    This is such a beautiful tribute to any ghost town…
    I loved going in the mountains of Colorado when i was stationed there..
    Cripple Creek was always a favorite stop…
    on the way up we always found one or two to wander in…
    Tank you for sharing …I really like it

    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladybluerose

    • Randall says:

      Thank you so much for your comment. I too love Cripple Creek, so historic and mysterous.

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        your welcome..!
        I spent many days wandering Cripple Creek…
        my kids loved it when they were little,
        it was a fun time in my life…
        00(
        ladybluerose

  2. tmso says:

    I liked the wind in the dusty streets, as if that is what they are made of. Nice!

  3. redplace says:

    Lovely. Such a beautiful description of a ghost town in rich poetric verse.

  4. It is always a joy to read your poetry Randall. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  5. willowdot21 says:

    You describe these deserted towns so well I almost feel that if I step outside I would be there!! Thank you for sharing. xxx

  6. caseygoulet says:

    wow, very very nice poem. I love good poetry, it paints a very effective picture that would require me pages of words to describe!

  7. Ben Naga says:

    Good to see you writing again. 🙂 Have you been following “The Dragon Epic”

    http://fourwindowspress.wordpress.com/category/thomas-davis/the-dragon-epic/

    I would recommend it. Something in both the content and the style in your piece reminded me of it.

  8. I love the image of ghosts “whirling after a gust.” Beautiful poem!

    • Randall says:

      I truly appreciate your visit and comment and I am glad that you enjoyed the poem. I was trying to use the visual representations of each other.

  9. Thomas Davis says:

    Great poem. Living an hour and a half from the San Juan Mountains, I love the old ghost towns. When I was a young man we always used to go to Marble to see that ghost town among the huge marble boulders brought down out of the quarries by a great flood. This poem reminded me of those days. There were ghosts everywhere. Thank you.

    • Randall says:

      There is something haunting in and about ghost towns for sure. Sounded like fun being able to visit the ghost town. Thank you so very much for your visit and comment.

  10. I love the silence and history and mystery of a ghost town or even an abandoned part of a town . . . this is so evocative of that spirit.

  11. Bob McCarthy says:

    Thank you for liking the post “Three for Three” on eteamjournal.wordpress.com.

  12. Kana Tyler says:

    I love this! An Idaho travel magazine sent me last summer to a mining-town in the Idaho mountains, and your words fit that one perfectly as well. I’m betting that some of my photos would seem as familiar to you as your words felt to me. 😉
    http://kanatyler.com/2011/12/28/silver-city-idaho-a-ghost-town-that-never-gave-up-the-ghost/

    And hey–you have at last one fan of the altered color-scheme here! My tired old eyes are grateful. 😉

    • Randall says:

      Thank you so much. Fascinating post, I recommend everyone viewing to click on the link and read the posting. There is just something about ghost towns. I struggled over changing the blog to a new scheme or not. I love the feedback, thank you.

      • Kana Tyler says:

        Well, as I said in the other comments, it’s entirely opinion on my part—and this space is YOURS! 🙂 But for what it’s worth, MY eyes vote for the new scheme. 🙂

  13. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: nightlysky.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/theminingtown/ […]…

  14. TS says:

    Love the new format! A great format for great poems. 🙂

    • Randall says:

      Thank you so much for the feedback. At least this way you can read the whole poem instead of just a part of it. I appreciate the feed back very much.

  15. SidevieW says:

    Lovely one. Ghost towns are pretty sad.

    In Namibia there are abandoned settlements where the desert has almost taken in the whole building all over

  16. Beautiful is all I can think of this poem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

