I stand here in front of a severe storm
Frozen in fear as the tornado sirens sound
And the sky explodes in lighting
Because of what I see coming.
I remember the warnings
Of what was going to happen.
The politicians scoffed so much.
So the corporations keep on churning,
Churning out their dirt into the air.
For no one at all cared.
Why would no one listen?
Why did no one care?
All for the sake of their money.
And now their gold is worthless,
Worthless since it is to late
To stop what they started.
It is too late, too late for us now.
So here I stand watching another
Severe storm coming in yet again
Tonight into my hometown.
As the tornado sirens sound
And the lightning erupts all around,
Frozen in fear I watch because
Dropping to the ground was a never
Known before F7 tornado.

About Randall

Welcome to my mind. From it come such writings that have been posted here. The blog Nightly Sky contains the poems that I have written. Sorry. I like writing and poetry.

38 responses »

  1. Aurora, HSP says:

    Oh so glad you posted this on your page! What a great poem and a great idea. Well done.

  2. Lindy Lee says:

    ‘Tis true, so true…

    • Randall says:

      Very unfortunately yes. Thank you for coming by and commenting. Was not sure if anyone would like this one.

      • Texasjune says:

        Since you mention “if anyone would like this one,” I’m willing to go out on a limb and tell you I have mixed emotions about it. To me, the theme is conflict – but, maybe it is suppose to be? Sometimes, I like words that make me uncomfortable – for a short time! After all, they are a good basis to appreciate the comfort level we seek. Good work!

  3. King Jaz says:

    That’s an amazing poem!! I usually don’t like poetry but yours is really interesting. It’s something to think about, and it may happen in the future! Awesome job!

    You commented on my blog by the way, if you remember šŸ™‚

  4. Loud Mind says:

    there is such truth to this poem…another awesome post šŸ™‚

  5. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    I’m with King Jaz – I’m not much into poetry; it’s too obscure and therefore can’t be felt. But this was great!

    • Randall says:

      Many poems can be cryptic, and sometimes mine starts that way, but so many are just little stories done in poetic form. Thank you so very much for stopping by and your very kind remark.

  6. neophytesserendipity says:

    This is very..meaningful. I cannot really say much because I have never been into poetry (will try it some time), but I really liked the subject of the poem, as well as how it was written. šŸ™‚

  7. Chaosmosis says:

    Very good. Everybody ignores the signs. Ignore-ance is bliss ’til you’re swept up by a twister.

  8. zigzapiens says:

    aww…it is well done…yet unfortunate that there was reason to write it…

  9. Michael Gillan Maxwell says:

    Love this poem! I have experienced a number of tornadoes – most of them in my youth in Wisconsin, Iowa and Minnesota – never will forget those experiences and the energy attached to them….however, never has this metaphor been more relevant than it is now…have you read Patricia Smith’s “Blood Dazzler”? She wrote it about Hurricane Katrina as seen primarily through the perspective of the storm itself. It’s totally intense and transcendent!

    • Randall says:

      I am sure then that you caught my F7 tornado since they only go right now to F5, although there getting much more common. I will have to check out the book you mentioned. Thank you so much for commenting and enjoying my humble work.

  10. I like your response in the comment above , , , “little stories done in poetic form.” Thank you. That’s what I always felt a poem should be. I love the ones that are. Excellent poem, a story with deeper meaning.

  11. dante668 says:

    This was a nice, spooky take on the nature’s revenge theme. The ending especially had a quietly apocalyptic feel to it like, “Well, in five minutes we’re all going to be erased from existence and there’s nothing we can do about it.” Very effective.

    • Randall says:

      Yes, you picked up on it. So far F5 is as high as they get and there becoming more common all the time. Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting.

  12. Aurora, HSP says:

    Randall! I am so flattered you added me to your blog roll šŸ™‚ Many thanks!

  13. F7 tornado’s scare me! I am not a fan of storms at all. I just might have a new place to live that will a have basement! Now that I will be happy about…44 years old and still a big baby.

    • Randall says:

      It is scary because F5ā€™s use to be somewhat rare, but they are becoming so much more common now, like the one that ripped through Springfield Missouri. I do expect a step-up in intensity in the not so distant future. Being scared of any tornado is a healthy sign of self-preservation. Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting.

  14. willowdot21 says:

    No listened , no one cared then in the end there was nothing there.

  15. willowdot21 says:

    Forgive me for rambling on but here I tried to say the same as you . http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/nature-in-the-evening-glow/

  16. jhasmoments says:

    This is a great piece. nicely written

Leave a Reply

