Berlin, Germany

 

It is not the same as we thought it was.
War was to be for honor
But has now been turned to shame.
All that glitters is not of gold.
We all thought you were of gold
But your glitter was like the splinters of glass,
Sparkling beautifully in the intense sunshine
But passes pouring blood when touched
From the deep cuts that you inflicted
Upon the very soul of humanity.
Once it is chosen and awakened on the earth
It grows into rivers of endless blood
At the very lands that you walk through.
From the very depths of Hell itself,
You brought forth fire to burn unceasing,
Destroying the cities without end.
You were always so quick to kill,
Especially those that were the young and old.
We marched out brave and proud
In pageantry and uniforms of such beauty.

Nuremberg, Germany

Only a handful of the broken ever came back.
We can now only hold our heads down in shame
As the dying, the lame, those torn apart,
Look at us with accusing eyes closing in death.
Even the screams of the children are drowned out
By the howls of your insane laughter.
As you devour all that there is
With your incessant appetite for obliteration,
We can only now wait for our own end.

London, England

About Randall

Welcome to my mind. From it come such writings that have been posted here. The blog Nightly Sky contains the poems that I have written. Sorry. I like writing and poetry.

50 responses »

  1. terri0729 says:

    Randall, I am so glad that I returned your visit to my blog! Marvelous poem, I really loved it!!! The subject matter is one that is dear to my heart too and I was deeply moved by your words! Thanks for sharing this with us. Peace and blessings, Terri

  2. Texasjune says:

    I wonder how you developed the ability to think with so much clarity of profound understanding and expression – that leaves no need for words of hate….

  3. claudia says:

    …hopefully we learned a bit from the last two world wars…for me, being a german it’s quite a burden to carry…powerful poem randall

    • Texasjune says:

      Claudia, let it go. I believe in laying down the burdens of the past accepting history as it was, and put our efforts toward writing our own FUTURE history books now. Make sense?

    • Randall says:

      The Germans were sold out in World War I. Then they got sold out again by a man and his party. I hope you understand that I meant nothing derogatory against a people, only that man and his minions. Now that it is over, let ALL of us rejoice together and live freely.

  4. simon7banks says:

    We need to understand our history as nations and as humans. For evil to triumph, it is only necessary that good men and women do not believe it could really happen.

    • Randall says:

      Very insightful. I think that is why bad things need to be brought up. Not to make people feel guilty, but to show what happens when bad beginnings go unchecked and then everyone suffers. Thank you very much for coming by and commenting.

  5. elaviel413 says:

    Such wonderful work! 🙂

  6. shiningcityonthehill says:

    How true that war holds some kind of attraction. Maybe in tales of old. its so-called beauty and glory, but when you actually touch it..you see its evil. Very good piece. Reminds me of my module at university looking at Britain and the public attitudes to war before WW1. A nation fed on tales of empire and far flung victories suddenly were confronted with a war and bloodshed close to home. Those 2 massive wars radically changed our view of war. Well done

  7. Thank you for checking out my work. I am glad you liked my short story.

    This poem is so powerful and beautiful. I will be sure to read more.

  8. Very effective poem, Randall. It summarizes the idealism by those who go to war and makes us think of the result they sometimes carry throughout their lives. Both sides suffer.

    • Randall says:

      That is so very true. Everyone has to pay a price. Thank you for your visit and comment.

      • Texasjune says:

        I look forward to a time peace can be an effective defense against evil and death. I am sorry it will not happen during my lifetime. Reality is fact – idealism is hope. My feeling is, we are wise to recognize both.

  9. kvennarad says:

    A flame that only feeds fire, one that leaps
    its own firebreaks; a map re-drawn hard
    in wounds, red, and roads, grey and scarred
    from displaced feet – the same map that raises
    new flags and new voices to the idiocy:
    a man, insane, who eats his own hand:
    the consequence of that map, those flags,
    those voices, until all lines are erased.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor/blogger
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

  10. thursdaychild1973 says:

    Great poem Randall. Brings to life what was considered normal for my parents and grandparents, and so many others now around the world.

  11. Aurora says:


    I saw this duo when I was a teenager… they parted ways except as professionals… she still sings like an angel, All The Tea in China is one of my favorites by Susan… ooops, I digress… while I’m sure there is likely a higher quality video available somewhere, the words from the song in the video have always resonated with me… the lines are so vaporous, the veils between good and bad so thin… to the light, to the light… evil does grow in the dark… as Leonard Cohen says, “There is a crack in everything; that’s how the light gets in.”
    Thank you for more to ponder. Wish our words were enough to halt the evil growing. If they were, yours would mean no more wars, no more war mongers… thanks for the read.
    Janice (Aurora)

  12. Texasjune says:

    From watching recent ‘national disagreements’ on television news, they appeared to be examples of what leads to war. The attack on the USS Cole, the World Trade Center, the overthrow of what’s his face in Iraq, Libya, the ongoing attacks by Palestinians on the Jews, the murder of protesters by the Iranian dictator – everything labeled the Arab Spring. Then came the ‘Occupy [?]’ promoted by whomever, and backed by many unions and some of the wealthiest individuals in the world, including G Soros that has been feeding them – and the label pops up again the American demonstrated is likened to the Arab Spring, and “God bless them,” Pelosi said, “for their spontaneity. It’s independent … it’s young, it’s spontaneous, and it’s focused. And it’s going to be effective.”

    Randall, it appears to me peace will not be coming soon – war just gets too much support.

    • Randall says:

      I thought I heard somewhere that history was taught so that we were not to repeat it. Everyone then must have failed history class. Same thing, only the names change.

  13. Elisabeth says:

    This is excellent, and quite insightful. I, too, am glad I returned the favor of your visitation. =)

  14. musea says:

    Old soldiers never die, they send young ones to do it for them.

  15. pebblemeddle says:

    This is a beautiful poem…it resonates with me strongly.

  16. mrkoenig66 says:

    An incredible profound perspective. What a gift it is to paint feelings, sights, and sounds with words.

  17. redplace says:

    What a beautiful poem. I’m glad I stumbled upon it :-]

  18. sarahjaneprosetry says:

    I love both the subjects you tackle and your beautiful imagery. You paint a picture, even if it is uncomfoortable to look at. I’m becoming hooked on your writing.

  19. Lindy Lee says:

    As long as violence enjoys first place,
    We shall not advance to a humane race.

    Violence Begets Violence

  20. guttermutt says:

    Extraordinary in it’s depth. Remarkable job!

  21. Intense, beautifully written and told.

  22. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    Hmm. War causes ache, all round, for certain. My grandfather died in Auschwitz, my mother was disturbed, fleeing Poland etc. I agree with you, WWII should have been enough to stop all wars. Great stuff, Randall.

    • Randall says:

      History is supposed to be about learning from the past so as not to repeat it, but it just seems like the names and places change and we continue on. But still I try to write about wrong anyway. Thank you so much for your comment. I am sorry about your family.

  23. theonlyjoe says:

    Wow… you do a really good job… Fabulous! Just made my favorites bar =p

  24. This is superb. I am moved by the commentary and exchange of ideas as much as by the fine and thoughtful poem! There is so much compassion and hope and will to grow peace in the world, but it’s so much less “showy” than the darker things and so it often gets less press. It’s wonderful to see people sharing a less dire and jaded view of the world by examining what such grim realities have done and can still do to us and then contemplating how to move away and forward from them. Peace, and thanks!

    • Randall says:

      Thank you very much. I am always so glad when someone likes what I wrote. I so truly appreciate your comment and hope you will continue to like my work. Thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

