Tonight, thoughts are like a waterfall,
Washing over the mind of
Flooding images of the day.
All the bad and the horrifying,
All the vile and filth,
Becoming a river of sufferings
That is now a swift current.
Then finally coming upon the edge of a great cliff,
The river carries its anguishes over the falls.
Surging downward.
In a seeming never-ending plunge,
All of the pain,
All of the hurt,
And all of the sickness,
Flow over the waterfall
Cascading into an ever downward spiral,
Smashing them upon the rocks as it descends.
The remains collect at a small pool down below
And then they are carried away,
Away, away from here,
Into the darkness of night.
Finally,
Free.
Free from pain and fear,
Free from sadness and all that hates.
It flows into the oblivion of eternity
On the river’s continuing journey
Into the pitch black of everlasting night.

Donar Reiskoffer at Plitvice lakes, Croatia

About Randall

Welcome to my mind. From it come such writings that have been posted here. The blog Nightly Sky contains the poems that I have written. Sorry. I like writing and poetry.

16 responses »

  1. rumpydog says:

    And isn’t it a wonderful feeling to feel free?

  2. Texasjune says:

    That poem has a lot of emotion, and the photo is perfect to represent it. Did you have the opportunity to take it yourself? Just wondering – I bet it’s an awesome place.

    • Randall says:

      To answer your question, no I do not take the photograph. I am glad that you brought it to my attention. My bad, I should have listed info on the photo, but I forgot. It has now been updated. It was by Donar Reiskoffer at Plitvice lakes, Croatia. Thank you.

  3. Texasjune says:

    No problem, Randall, I wasn’t being picky! Your writing is superlative, and it crossed my mind, you may have been traveling the world and finding scenes in nature to match your passion for words. Wouldn’t that be nice to be able to do? With that wish noted, I hope you realize what a blessing your words are – I hope more people can find them.

    • Randall says:

      I know that you were not being picky. But you woke me up to my mistake (bad me). So I appreciate the wake up as well as your kind words toward my poems. Hopefully one day I can travel much more than I can now. I would love to see more.

  4. i love your poetry in motion, i can almost hear its thunderous sound!

    • Randall says:

      Thank you, I love you saying you can almost here it. I try for vividness usually in my poems. Thank you for stoping by and commenting. Please come back again.

  5. Tunisia says:

    You are a very talented poet.

  6. theonlyjoe says:

    It’s like headache relief reading this =P

  7. Got lost in this one. Read it twice over to lose myself again. Loved it.

  8. Randall says:

    Thank you. Just trying to let all the cares of the day go away.

Leave a Reply

